Avengers – The hype and the reveals (spoiler-free)

12-avengers-2-age-of-ultron-pictures-exposition-and-plot-released

The Avengers 2 is a week away. I am thrilled beyond belief, but I am also troubled by a couple things within the fan culture surrounding it. In early days, I am all for speculation, any news we can find, and building the hype as much as possible. Now, however, I fear that we have built the hype of the film up too high. Also, there are spoilers being revealed online. I will not be documenting them in this article, so feel free to read on fearlessly.

The hype is almost impossibly high for this film. We know this film will be wonderful, but are we expecting it to be a masterpiece. The film is not even two and a half hours long. Do we dare expect so much out of the film. While the first Avengers is a great movie, Joss Whedon is a great director, and everything indicates this will be a wonderful film, it will not live up to expectations that are astronomical.

I don’t say this to diminish the movie. I merely say it to make it more enjoyable for us as the audience. By releasing some of the pressure that has built up, I think we will enjoy Age of Ultron more.

captain-america-avengers-age-of-ultron-costume2

Also, there is evidently a twist part-way through the film. As the film has already been released overseas, the twist is available online. Personally, I have avoided this. I choose to see the film as it was meant to be seen. The little I have heard about it, however, has indicated that the film is better off without knowing the twist going in.

If you want to know the twist, the depths of the internet are open to you, but I will choose to sit back.

This is merely my friendly warning to the Marvel audiences before going into the Avengers: Age of Ultron. As usual, you can expect a spoiler and spoiler-free review by the end of release weekend. For now, only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

