Confirmation of Doctor Strange

benedict-cumberbatch-is-marvel-s-dr-strange

Breaking news! Benedict Cumberbatch is now Doctor Strange. Deadline has confirmed that the actor, famous for Sherlock, The Hobbit, Star Trek Into Darkness and numerous other prestigious rolls, will play Doctor Stephen Strange and join the Marvel Universe. We have been watching different actors for a couple months.

Personally, I am a fan of the casting and am excited to see how he will interpret the roll. Truly, only time will tell.

6 responses to “Confirmation of Doctor Strange

  1. I am torn….because I am not sure how wise that one is. BC is such a busy, busy actor (as every Sherlock fan knows), I am kind of surprised that Marvel even managed to get him sign on for multiple movies. Mind you, I am sure he will be great. But he might be a little bit too well known.

    (Plus, I already see myself waiting for Sherlock season 5 in 2020…sight…..).

    On the other hand he does have those overly long fingers I want Dr. Strange to have.

    • I don’t like this only because of his performance in 12 Years A Slave. His American accent was terrible. But thats just one performance. He has been great in everything else I have seen him in, and I like him as an actor. I will try to withhold judgement until the movie comes out. I can’t wait.

      • It seems like they are still in negotiation, so nothing is confirmed yet (isn’t Dr. Strange scheduled for 2016? BC shooting time in 2015 is limited because of Sherlock). On a different note, did you see this article: http://www.buzzfeed.com/adambvary/thor-captain-america-avengers-age-of-ultron-set-visit

        Sounds like there is the possibility to keep Captain America around longer after all. There is a difference between “I don’t want to work as an actor anymore” and “I don’t want to do so many movies at once”.

      • I just wonder…does Dr. Strange HAS to be American? All in all, I would like the Avengers to be from very different parts of the world instead of being all American, despite what the source text says. (I admit, I was slightly hoping for an Asian actor to get Dr. Strange, but I guess that would have caused their own kind of controversy).

    • In response to your previous comment,
      BC is in negotiations still, yes, but enough reputable sources are confirming it, so I am good with it.
      For Chris Evans, this is the original comment:
      “If I’m acting at all, it’s going to be under Marvel contract, or I’m going to be directing. I can’t see myself pursuing acting strictly outside of what I’m contractually obligated to do.”
      I still think that Marvel is planning around him, with the heavy contract load on Bucky. Surely, time will tell.

      I’m very careful with what sources I use. If I don’t see a single thing in multiple reputable sources, I will probably not report on it.

Leave a Reply

