Rumors for Avengers 2

The Avengers: Age of Ultron is still a good eight months away, but that doesn’t stop the rumor mill from filling up with all sorts of “information”. Granted, sometimes this information is correct. Sometimes, it’s fan speculation attempting to be justified by being called fact. There are a number of rumors bouncing around right now and frankly, I’m not sure which category they fit in.

The rumor mill is a funny thing. It has successfully produced the post credits for the last four marvel movies before they were released. It also told us that Alexander Pierce was the Red Skull and that Nathan Fillion was going to be Richard Ryder. So safe to say, we have mixed results.

But let’s get to the theories themselves. Oh, spoiler alert if these turn out to be true.

Bruce Banner is stuck on a plane headed into space.

Planet-Hulk-2010-1

One of the earliest rumors to surface, Bruce Banner is rumored to be stuck on a plane headed into space at the end of Avengers 2. We don’t know how or why, but it sounds a little Captain America 1-ish to me. This would, theoretically, lead into a Planet Hulk or Guardians 2 scenario.

The source is anonymous, so I don’t know the validity of it. It would have to be someone close enough to production to get their hands on the script. This seems unlikely to me, but its possible.

The soul stone will be used to free Vision from Ultron’s control.

the+vision

This rumor has the soul stone being used to convert Vision from Villain’s pawn to Avenger. As we don’t yet know where the soul stone is within the Marvel Universe, it is still possible. I would point out that Loki’s Glowstick of Destiny has been theorized to be the mind stone. I don’t think they’d drop two stones into a movie just yet.

The source is almost nonexistent. I went looking. I caught this rumor once in another article almost as a passing remark. Personally, I call it baseless and put no stock in it. Still, on the off chance that it does end up true, I report it here.

The end of Avengers 2 is the beginning of the Civil War.

iron-man-vs-captain-america

This rumor has a version of the superhero registration act being signed in the closing moments of the film, beginning the Superhero Civil War. I will be the first one to say that I would love to see the Civil War on screen. I even would go so far as to say that the MCU could pull it off within the next five years. That being said, this seems rushed and without build-up.

The source of this is very illusive. It’s being given the credit of other “leaked” posts, but no where do I find anyone claiming that it is leaked. This almost makes me feel like this is a fan theory gone haywire. Possible, but I won’t put money on it.

Captain America forms a new group of Avengers.

cropped-23.jpg

This rumor has Captain America building New Avengers at the end of Avengers 2. Some who say that the Superhero Registration Act will come into play claim that this will be the Secret Avengers, who fought against Iron Man’s New Avengers in the Civil War. This would lead to Captain America 3 being mostly about the Civil War and his leading of the Secret Avengers.

This rumor is being accepted as fact in some articles across the internet, but it is completely without source. Also, this seems to contradict an interview with Anthony Mackie, who said that Cap 3 will be mostly about Falcon, Cap, and Buckie, with no mention of anyone else. So I would say probably not.


These are the rumors that are floating out on the internet. All four have been treated as fact by various writers, but hardly any of them have any solid standing in reputable sources. They all involve rather high up leaks rather early on, but we just don’t know yet. I don’t give much credence to them, but you should know about them from me first, if you happen to find them out on the internet.

What do you think? I would love to hear your thoughts on these theories (if you believe them or if you would like them). Sound off in the comments. In 8 months, we’ll know for sure. Until then, well, only time will tell.

6 responses to “Rumors for Avengers 2

  1. I don’t believe any of them, and honestly, none of them sound really compelling to me (likewise I hope that it is not true that Natascha will start a relationship with Bruce). Well, the Civil war storyline might be worthwhile sometimes in the future, but at this point, I think that the movies are building up to a final confrontation with Thanos.

    The only thing about the next Avenger movie I am pretty sure of is that there will be a dangerous computer program and I suspect, eventually two new Avengers members. And I guess Tony will wear his suit (one last time?????? Man, Iron Man three was confusing).

    • I agree that none of these seem very likely at all. I forgot about the romance triangle rumor, which is also pretty dominant across the internet.
      And Robert Downey Junior has signed on for Avengers 2 and 3, so I’m pretty sure you’ll see him suit up for two more movies at minimum. They won’t have Tony without his armor, despite the ending to Iron Man 3. He’s also been confirmed to be wearing Hulk Buster armor in Avengers 2, so we’ll see him against The Hulk, which I think will be exciting.

      • He has? I didn’t know that (to be honest, your blog is my main source for rumours and the like because of the lack of BS in it). You know, a post about which actor has signed up for how many movies would be great…never seen this information neatly lined up.

        I still don’t get the ending of Iron Man 3. And I will certainly miss the arc reactor…even if they didn’t expect another Iron Man movie to be made (which, I guess, is for the best, unless they come up with a more creative idea than “some weapon douche teams up with some foreign criminal”), I don’t get why they HAD to show the removal right there. Why not ending the movie with Tony just looking for ways to get rid of it once and for all? Putting the possibility out there, so they can bring it up at a point when RDJ is not available any longer?

        For the upcoming movie I mostly want a lot of interaction between the different Avengers (and NOT romance…Black Widow actually went through three movies without this nonsense, I see no reason to break that streak. If they hook her up with anyone, then please one of the side characters).

      • I have spent the afternoon constructing a post about various contract lengths for the Marvel actors. I have it scheduled to post on Thursday, so take a look for it.
        As for Iron Man 3, they made a lot of bold decisions, many of which didn’t jive with the fans. I’ll give them props for trying to make bold choices as opposed to another typical superhero movie.
        I have mixed opinions on Black Widow and romances. I think she is a very complex character and I like to explore different aspects of her character, but I don’t want to bog down a story with too many subplots either. It’s a tricky balance.

      • I honestly don’t mind any of the decisions, it’s the execution which bothers me. The Mandarin twist was great, but the actual “villain” was way too predictable and disappointing, and the complete end sequence had no built up whatsoever, it felt rushed and not really thought out. Plus, it didn’t make any sense that there was such an easy solution, considering that Tony spend a whole movie dying from poisoning. They could have easily solved this with the doctor calling him at the start of the movie saying “remember the problem with your heart? I think I have finally found a solution”.
        Yeah, on the one hand I want her to have what is more or less a given for every male protagonist and explore every aspect of her…on the other hand though I am afraid of her getting reduced to “just the love interest” in the process.
        Thank you so much! I look forward to reading it.

  2. Pingback: Age of Ultron: Rumor control | Marvel Movie Magic·

Leave a Reply

